FIFA World Cup

2238772_big-lndEvery four years since 1930 (with the exception of the war years in the 1940s), the world’s biggest international association football competition, under the umbrella of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) has enthralled football fans all over the world. Each season, the World Cup is traditionally hosted in a different country, which bids for the privilege and the commitment. And to date, it is understood to be considerably more popular than the Olympic Games.

Where to, Next?

Over the competition’s 20 seasons, so far, 16 countries have been host to it, and deciding on the host has traditionally been a controversial business, particularly in the early days when transport was an issue and it became prohibitive for some countries to attend and participate. These days, an elaborate ballot system is used to elect a host for the year ahead. The next FIFA World Cup will be hosted in Russia in 2018.

The Kings of FIFA

Eight national teams have dominated, during the life of the FIFA World Cup organisation as winners. They are Brazil, who has won five times (and who has played in every tournament since 1930); Germany and Italy, who have won four titles each; Argentina and Uruguay, who have each won twice; and England, France, and Spain, who have each bagged this prestigious title once.

Full Houses

When it’s World Cup season, the world becomes a completely different place, certainly a more friendly one, and one in which a country’s national colours are proudly on display. It’s been calculated that some 715-million people take the time to watch the final match of each FIFA season, either by traveling to the game itself, or through their TV sets: that’s a ninth of the world’s population. The question is, what are the other eight-ninths doing, while the world’s most important game is underway?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *